Incredible Sauraha

 

It is always good to visit interesting place during vacation. It will give you freshness and more over you will be refreshed and get informed and increase your learning habit. This time I made visit to sauraha. This is the one of the best destination in Nepal. Peculiarity is Chitwan National Park.2008-2-4-07_nepal_rapti-river_img_2873

Chitwan National Park is the first national park in Nepal. Formerly called Royal Chitwan National Park it was established in 1973 and granted the status of a World Heritage Site in 1984. It covers an area of 932 km2 (360 sq mi) and is located in the subtropical Inner Terai lowlands of south-central Nepal in the Chitwan District. In altitude it ranges from about 100 m (330 ft) in the river valleys to 815 m (2,674 ft) in the Churia Hills.
It is a rich natural area in the Terai, the subtropical southern part of Nepal. A total of 68 species of mammals, 544 species of birds, 56 species of herpeto-fauna and 126 species of fish have been recorded in the park. The park is especially renowned for its protection of One Horned Rhinoceros, Royal Bengal Tiger and Gharial Crocodile.

I hadn’t been there for over 2 years so it was nice to visit .i was with my brothers, vauju (brother’s wife), vinaju(sister’s husband) and sasu ama (mother in law). It was 8 am when we left our home and it took us around 45 minutes to get there by jeep. Once we reached Sauraha, we moved towards the information center located there. We bought ticket at ticket counter. They said there were already few groups joining the safari and safari would be started after 2 hours, so it would be good for us to visit other place to utilize this spare time. They provided us a cart and we rode on it. As sasu ama didn’t want elephant safari we left her in our relative’s homes there and we got back. As everyone was hungry at that time so went to one of the restaurant there. We found costly as comparison to the Narayanghat(main city of chitwan), this may be due to tourist area. Once we paid our bill we rode on the cart again. Journey was much excited and fun as we faced lots of bump. This was the first time I rode into cart. The driver of the cart suggested us to hold cart firmly every time when jolting came. Cart stopped at Biodiversity Conservation Center and we visited there for a while. We took some good photo there.

©www.rcacharya.worldpress.com

©www.rcacharya.worldpress.com

©www.rcacharya.worldpress.com

©www.rcacharya.worldpress.com

 

It was almost 2 hours so we went to elephant riding area. Eventually we reached there and we saw everyone had already come for safari. Among Elephant we found one was very beautiful, her name was Beautikali. “ She is the winner of the beauty contest” said maute(elephant handler). Meanwhile my brother bought some dozen of banana and we together fed the elephant. We took some blessing from Beautikali. My brother was much scared when she moved her trunk while giving blessing.

©www.rcacharya.worldpress.com

©www.rcacharya.worldpress.com

In one elephant only 4 people can ride. So I had to move to next elephant. I was lucky enough that I got Beautikali. In my group there were three weighty men and got little place. I adjust myself. I felt sorry for the poor elephant as she was carrying such a weighty man. Our safari started. I was scared when beautikali started walking in the sloppy land near the Rapati River and felt I would fall down. I was squeezed by three weight man when Beautikali started moving in elevated land at the next side of the river. You could easily imagine that what was my situation at that time.

©www.rcacharya.worldpress.com

©www.rcacharya.worldpress.com

I was delighted when I saw peacock crossing our way. It was really spectacular view. While controlling Beutikali ,stick was fell down. To my surprise Maute rode off by the way of trunk. She easily carried maute with her trunk. I had never seen such moment in my life.

After some time, we were lucky enough that we saw one horned rhino and her baby. For the close look-up all the Maute made the circle to trap the rhino in the centre. I was really amazing moment. One horned rhino, one of the endangered species, was near to me.

Sadly we didn’t see any other wildlife at that time. We were taken one and half hours and then back to the same spot from where we started our safari. I was a bit restless as I had to sit in one place for a long time.

©www.rcacharya.worldpress.com

©www.rcacharya.worldpress.com

It was almost 5 pm and we decided to go home. I had really nice time with my family.

I am sure it is the great destination for everyone including kids.

About Ramchandra

Hello! I am Ramchandra Acharya. I am veterinary student at institute of agriculture and animal science(IAAS) Rampur,chitwan. Currently i am the member of Nepal Veterinary Students Association. My favorite subject are immunology ,pharmacology,pathology. I also enjoy the clinical aspect of veterinary medicine and discussion of subject related matter with peers. Apart from this i love blogging ,making new friends and sharing knowledge.

Posted on May 24, 2013, in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

