Blog Archives

The End of Millennium Development Goals and Beyond

povertyWhat is MDGs?

MDGs stands for Millennium Development Goals and it is the world’s promise to achieve the goals such as to reduce by half the world’s poverty by 2015.
In September, 2000 the Millennium Declaration was unanimously adopted by 189 UN member states. In the declaration the international society announced to work on the challenges together to build the prosperous and fair world with peace and to end the poverty.

There are eight numerical targets to be achieved by 2015.
Goal 1: Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
Goal 2: Achieve universal primary education
Goal 3: Promote gender equality and empower women
Goal 4: Reduce child mortality
Goal 5: Improve maternal health
Goal 6: Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases
Goal 7: Ensure environmental sustainability
Goal 8: Develop a global partnership for development

Each of the goals has specific stated targets and dates for achieving those targets.



Read the rest of this entry


Social Media Training in IAAS Rampur, Chitwan

Social Media Training in IAAS Rampur, Chitwan.